Every successful WhatsApp strategy starts with the same step.
Build a subscriber list.
By now, we have collected millions of active subscribers for our clients. Back in 2020, there was no concept of WhatsApp subscriber. But we needed it, so we had to invent it. Since then, hundreds of businesses have managed to reach thousands of active WhatsApp subscribers.
The good news? You can too.
Here’s 5 bulletproof strategies to reach 10.000 subscribers:
#1: Popups & Website CTAs
Popups are all the different objects you can add to your website to get your visitor to give you information about themselves.
To collect WhatsApp numbers, there are some best practices you can follow:
Activate WhatsApp popups in the website’s mobile version
Use multiple popups, with different CTAs depending on the page
Use “wa.mi” links to direct users into chat with pre-filled messages
Add exit-intent popups with discounts appearing 10s after browsing the site
Add a “Do you need help?” bubble in your site to offer visitors WhatsApp support
Popups are super powerful and versatile, helping you convert the >85% of visitors that do not purchase on their first visit into leads you can nurture.
You can A/B test every part of them to optimize for conversion, and aim for a 5% conversion rate. Together with a good Welcome Flow, these popups can end up generating thousands of euros in autopilot.
The math - 10.000 subscribers in 90 days
Subscribers = (Monthly Visits) x (Subscription Rate)
Months available = 3
Subscription Rate: 5%
Target subscribers: 3.333 x month
Monthly visits = Subscribers / Subscription Rate
3.333 / 0.05 = 66.660 visitors
If you have 66k monthly visits or more…
You can collect 10.000 subscribers in under 90 days.
#2: Checkout process
The checkout process is your happy place - where the visitor has finally has decided to initiate a transaction and, hopefully, will become a customer.
To collect WhatsApp subscribers in the checkout process there are 2 main options:
Add the phone number as a required field on your checkout process
Give the option to subscribe to your WhatsApp Newsletter after purchase to receive order confirmation, tracking links and more via WhatsApp
Both options are great and, if well framed, can be seen as a huge value add for the customer. Receiving shipping links, processing returns, and more via WhatsApp is useful, removes friction and most customers love it!
It also gives you big possibilities to play around with post-purchase flows and up/x-sell, but more on that another day.
The math - 10.000 subscribers in 90 days
Subscribers = (Monthly Unique Orders) x (Subscription Rate)
Months available = 3
Subscription Rate = 50%
(Avg. both options mentioned above)Target subscribers: 3.333 x month
Monthly orders = Subscribers / Subscription Rate
3.333 / 0.5 = 6.666 orders
If you have 6.6k monthly orders or more…
You can collect 10.000 subscribers in under 90 days.
#3: Social media
Social media is a great place to build a community.
And a community is great to acquire customers. Especially over the last years, when the cost of acquisition in socials was low and opportunities for monetization after were massive.
Now it is not as easy to run this play, but there’s still hope. You can convert your current audience into WhatsApp subscribers, so you finally own them.
You can even put some money into WhatsApp dedicated ads.
The math - 10.000 subscribers in 90 days
Subscribers
=
1/ (Audience) x (Subscription Rate)
+
2/ (Ad Impressions) x (Click-through Rate)
1/ Subscribers from audience = (Audience) X (Subscription Rate)
Audience = 100.000
Plug your real countSubscription Rate = 5%
eCom with strong brand equity should aim for more
Subscribers from audience = 100.000 X 0.05 = 5.000
2/ Subscribers from Ads = (Ad Impressions) X (Click-through Rate)
Ad Click-through rate: 1%
Use your own metricsTarget subscribers = 5.000
Ad Impressions = Subscribers / Subscription Rate
5.000 / 0.01 = 500.000 impressions
If you have 100k followers and 5%, and add 500k impressions on ads…
You can collect 10.000 subscribers in under 90 days.
#4: Email & SMS
Do you want to get more out of your Email or SMS list?
Look no further.
Bringing them to WhatsApp can be the key.
It is also simple, quick, and effective. Assuming you have an active list, and a good strategy that does not make them hate you already, offering WhatsApp as a new channel is only giving them extra value.
WhatsApp is more personal and convenient, and your customers know it.
The math - 10.000 subscribers in 90 days
Subscribers = (Email / SMS Subscriber List) x (Conversion Rate to WhatsApp)
Subscription Rate to= 10% Avg. for brands we’ve helped
Target subscribers: 10.000
Email / SMS Subscriber List = Target Subscribers / Conversion Rate to WhatsApp
10.000 / 0.01 = 100.000 email / SMS subscribers
If you have 100k subscribers in your list…
You can collect 10.000 WhatsApp subscribers in under 90 days 1 weekend.
#5: Offline
Do you have an offline presence?
Great, let’s use that too!
Your store is a great lead acquisition machine, but most DTC brands are blind to it. Where else do you get thousands of people into a place where you own and control the environment, the attention, the products, the journey, everything?
Do not waste all of this effort put into captivating visitors by not even trying to convert them. Put QR codes that prompt them to subscribe in the shop window, get your shop assistants to promote WhatsApp consultations, etc.
If you do it right, you can get hundreds of WhatsApp subscribers.
The math - 10.000 subscribers in 90 days
Unfortunately, there’s too many variables to give a simple calculation in this case.
Instead, I’ll give you a list of ideas to collect subscribers:
QR Code in the store window with CTA to subscribe to WhatsApp (potentially add discount, free delivery, etc)
Access to exclusive in-store events via WhatsApp invite only
Consultation about products, sizes, etc, via WhatsApp
In-store navigation via WhatsApp (big store or mall)
Return process via WhatsApp
…
If you apply all of these…
You can collect 10.000 subscribers in under 90 days.
#Bonus Tip - WhatsApp only campaigns
Are you afraid those alone will not get you 10.000 subscribers?
We got you.
Force customers into WhatsApp.
Sushi bikes made an incredible campaign this last week.
They blocked their webpage 24h to announce a WhatsApp only product release
They direct you to WhatsApp to subscribe and get access to the pre-release
They send you a 1:many personalized message to get you excited
Finally, they release the product and get you to buy
Not only they collected tons of subscribers, but also made money!
Is this something you can do every day? No.
But you can find creatives ways to drive subscribers every day.
Once you have 10.000 people on WhatsApp, the possibilities are endless. We see brands making 30% of their revenue via WhatsApp alone.
One year ago we saw the first store cross €1Mn in revenue via WhatsApp.
Now we see more reaching the milestone even faster.
The question is… will the next be you?
Whenever you're ready to grow your DTC brand:
→ Book your 1:1 Strategy Call: We’ll explore your brand needs, and I’ll help you come up with a plan to generate 20-30% of your revenue via Direct Marketing.